Sponsored by:

Oh no, more v/b code questions that need answers

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 06:45 PM
bigwhitetruck01
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oh no, more v/b code questions that need answers

First of all, Yes I did a search, hence my confusion. I was able to find some part numbers but no definitive answers to my questions.

Ok, here's my problem: I need to replace the front shocks and springs on my 01 Ex (5.4L 4x4). Pass. side front shock is toast and the driver's side spring makes all kinds of racket when it compresses. What I'm looking for is a firmer ride, slightly higher and more level stance. As it stands the truck seems a bit higher in the back and could use a bit of stiffening up. I know that if I'm going to replace what's there, I may as well upgrade to something that will help get rid of some of the wandering and provide a bit of lift. I'm new to the ford truck world and I don't understand alot of what i've read about spring swaps but I'm not new to vehicle modification so I understand the technical info, just not ford specific jargon (i.e.: v,x,w,b codes). Please correct me at any time but, I've determined that alot of owners are going with an f-series v-code front spring / f-250 shock combo, and b-code spring / f-350 block spacer combo (with Ex shocks). Where I'm most confused regards the options for the rear. Do I necessarily have to add a leaf to the b-code rears or can i just do a direct swap and maintain a basically level stance? If my rear springs are ok, do I even have to replace them at all or can i just swap the stock spacer for the f-350 block and do the shocks? That brings me to U-bolts...it seems that there is some confusion on what to use front and rear. Any takers for that one?