Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

New guy - looking for guidance on CPS, injectors

Old 11-12-2011, 10:27 PM
milman
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New guy - looking for guidance on CPS, injectors

Hey, all! Just signed up. I've been reading on these forums (and a few others) for a couple months, guess I'm just slow on the joining. In any case, it seems like the most experienced Powerstroke owners come here with their advice, experience and help, which is what I'm needing. I'm no mechanic, but I'll probably end up one when I finish "fixing" my truck!

I bought a 1999 F250 4x2 last year from the original owner's son. It was well cared for, and for the most part, it runs great. He was running BullyDog Power Pup tuner (I returned it to stock), added a 4" turbo-back exhaust, and had the transmission torn down/checked out about 30k miles ago, and replaced the TC with a billet TC at that time. After purchase, I took the truck in to two different dealerships and paid the $90 to have them put their computer on it and check it out bumper to bumper.

Both dealerships came back with neg CCT readings on #3 and #8. I've read on this forum and various other places that this can be just a side effect of the "improved" grey recall CPS... I don't have an original black CPS to check it against to see if that might be the problem. The truck does occasionally stumble a bit at idle, sometimes when cold and sometimes at op temp, and even though compared to the gasser 150's it's a heavy beast, it doesn't have great power going up these tiny Georgia hills. I had one tech tell me I need to get those two injectors replaced ASAP to avoid possible long-term damage, and one tell me to not worry about it, to just "save your money for a rebuild down the line." There's no excessive blowby or any other outward sign of failure... seems to me to run alright, with a few "hiccups."