1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Paint Job in Denver

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2011, 09:32 PM
brain75
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Paint Job in Denver

[EDIT] - opening the thread up to a more broad topic of powder v. paint.

This post is targeted at Denver folks and folks who have lived in Denver, know Denver etc...

I have a set of original style steel rims I would like to paint, but not trying to go original color, instead I want to match the current (previous owner) paint... possibly if I can afford it get a few spots on the body fixed up. Just not in the budget to repaint all and get it to original color. I've done a little painting in my day, enough to know it is more art than not and I am not an artist.

Anybody know of an affordable good paint place in Denver? I just want some input and experience rather than doing a random yellow page pin the tail on the donkey game.

Old 11-01-2011, 11:46 AM
brain75
Elder User
bump....73 views, not one post eh :P

All good folks, I know that 90% of the US populace is not in my timezone, I'm used to it.

Tell you what, as long as nobody gets to bashing I'll also solicit "negative" referrals - just simply tell me who to avoid, with no emotional business hate (keep the thread peaceful please).

Old 11-01-2011, 03:30 PM
old_dan
Fleet Mechanic

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
If it's just a set of wheels, think about searching for a powder coat shop. Most of those shops also do industrial painting & can spray anything, or just sandblast and powder coat. They'll help you bracket the price range. There are a couple of shops around here and they end up being pretty reasonable for painting loose parts.

Dan

Old 11-01-2011, 06:39 PM
F100FE
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Go to a good paint supply store, they can take a computer and read your old paint and mix to match, then any shop can paint it for you.

Old 11-15-2011, 05:25 PM
brain75
Elder User