Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
Old 11-21-2014, 10:55 AM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all:
Print Wikipost

Rear end whining at 35+ mph, need lots of help

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2011, 05:02 PM
redlineshifts
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear end whining at 35+ mph, need lots of help

Ugh. I am moving 1000+ miles on friday(towing a small boat) and my rear end is whining pretty loudly now at 35+mph.

I'm really in a bind here, I have never done any work on a rear end before and wouldn't even know where to start to try to diagnose it or repair anything. I guess I'm going to see if I can find a shop that will guarantee they can have it done in a few days at most.

If anyone has any advice at all, I'm all ears. What does whining usually indicate and what is the worst case scenario here.

This sucks.

1996 5.8L Bronco

Old 10-15-2011, 06:02 PM
Nickk97tml
More Turbo
I am almost 100% positive that its your U joint, its not an expensive job and shouldnt take your mechanic more than 2 hours to fix, I had the same problem not to long ago.

Old 10-15-2011, 06:12 PM
kd0axs
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Nickk97tml
I am almost 100% positive that its your U joint, its not an expensive job and shouldnt take your mechanic more than 2 hours to fix, I had the same problem not to long ago.
I've never heard a U-Joint "whine". They will "squeak" and "clunk", but a "whine" says rear end to me.

I would start by changing the gear lube. It could just be low, but if it's making noise it's already doing damage. Getting fresh gear lube in there could extend the life for a while though.

Old 10-15-2011, 06:16 PM
Nickk97tml
More Turbo
Originally Posted by kd0axs