Notices
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Keeping the Patina

Old 09-23-2011, 05:56 AM
dlb.motorman
Junior User
dlb.motorman is starting off with a positive reputation.
Keeping the Patina

Got a 50 F-1 that was a station service truck. It has a LOT of patina with "Mobil" emblems on the doors and tailgate. Also has a lot of character patina as it has sat in a field for years. I'd like to keep the exterior looking just as it is, but clean up and rust repair/protect everything else. I'm not a paint expert so let me know, can I just shoot a clear paint covering over the patina to preserve it, or is there a better method?

Old 09-23-2011, 07:25 AM
maverickman514
Senior User
maverickman514 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
most everyone here is gonna tell you... WE MEED PICTURES!! lol

clearing over the patina will probably mess up the patina.....

I say just scrub it up, and let it go. why stop the patina, when you could allow it to naturally progress?
I understand (and agree) that you want/need to stop the rust, but in order to properly advise you on the best way to proceed, we're gonna need to see some detailed pics...

SO LET'S SEE THOSE PICTURES!!!

Old 09-23-2011, 08:31 AM
HEAVY100
Senior User
HEAVY100 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Let's see the pics !

Old 09-23-2011, 09:13 AM
51PanelMan
Post Fiend
51PanelMan is a name known to all51PanelMan is a name known to all51PanelMan is a name known to all51PanelMan is a name known to all51PanelMan is a name known to all51PanelMan is a name known to all
You should be able to clear coat over the patina. However, you need to dull the clear. You can also spray WD40 or try a paste wax to preserve the patina.

Pictures, pictures, pictures!!!!

Old 09-23-2011, 04:26 PM
lexcoe
Elder User
lexcoe is starting off with a positive reputation.