6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Bearing Cap Seized to crank...Mystery needs solving

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2020, 06:03 PM
Helirescue
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bearing Cap Seized to crank...Mystery needs solving

Please , I need some help Solving a problem... Quick background-
My 2011 F-250 6.7 truck 125k miles,died while towing a trailer on the freeway. I had towed to the dealership and torn apart. They found Metal in the pan so the motor was pulled to diagnose the cause. The mechanic found that
The bearing cap is seized to the crank and significant bearing damage to other bearings.
and my motor is shot.
The oil was changed 6k miles prior and was near full
Can anyone think of a Reasonable cause for this to happen?
Warranty company is trying to say I Had low oil Level and not cover it. But I checked the oil immediately upon breakdown and it was fine.
I have limited knowledge about motors and need help presenting my counter argument showing other possible causes. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Old 08-21-2020, 06:08 PM
jollyrogr
Cargo Master
Received 764 Likes on 402 Posts
Wow. What kind of oil was in it?

Old 08-21-2020, 06:20 PM
Helirescue
New User
Oil Type

Originally Posted by jollyrogr
Wow. What kind of oil was in it?
Valvoline 5-40 Synthetic

Old 08-21-2020, 06:33 PM
jollyrogr
Cargo Master
Received 764 Likes on 402 Posts
Originally Posted by Helirescue
Valvoline 5-40 Synthetic
pure blue extreme? Or some other stuff? AFAIK, Valvoline PBX is supposed to be pretty good diesel oil.

Old 08-21-2020, 06:57 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,415 Likes on 1,010 Posts
Think you are going to need the tech to state what the oil level was prior to tear down.

You probably need to copy the oil change recommendations per ford to show you follow the schedule.

Is this an oil pump issue or oil sump plugged up issue?

Were there any codes stored in the PCM?

Old 08-21-2020, 08:04 PM
Helirescue
New User