1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Brake Rotor Turned Blue (Heat) in 8-miles, Keep Using or Replace?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2011, 09:04 PM
98SurplusExpy
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Brake Rotor Turned Blue (Heat) in 8-miles, Keep Using or Replace?

So I changed all four rotors (Motorcraft) & Pads (Wagner ThermoQuiet)and flushed the brake fluid.

Took a test drive afterwards (8-miles total). Brakes worked as expected, but when I returned I "smelled something". I immediately went around & started checkin each wheel ... all were good except the right rear.

Apparently I have a sticky caliper or a collapsed brake line (haven't quite narrowed it 100% but I'm pinning it on the caliper) ... the new pad must of dragged on the new rotor for the entire 8-miles. The heat was enough to turn the rotor blue.

I'm no expert on this, so I'm asking ... should I correct the problem & continue using the pad & rotor that was heated? Or, is it recommeded to replace everything if the rotor turned blue??

Old 07-10-2011, 09:43 PM
redford
Received 1,550 Likes on 905 Posts
I am also no expert, but were it me I would replace the rotor and pad. Don't screw around and try to save a few bucks. You may be betting your life and your family's life.

Old 07-10-2011, 09:48 PM
JESTERxHEAD
Senior User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I would turn off maybe .010" off the rotor. keep the rotor there is nothing wrong with it. the rotor is not bad maybe just a bit warped. pitch the pad. and re-break in the brakes.

Old 07-11-2011, 02:16 AM
Persona
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Rotors are cast iron which is pretty stable as far as metals go. I would have no problem using it, as long as it's not warped.

Old 07-11-2011, 05:29 AM
rattleNsmoke
More Turbo