2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recon Clearance Lights Installed...w/ lots of Pics....56k Warning

Old 09-20-2008, 04:41 AM
Tylus
MMNC (SS)(Ret)

Received 30 Likes on 22 Posts
Recon Clearance Lights Installed...w/ lots of Pics....56k Warning

I finally did it. They arrived yesterday. I spent yesterday buying wiring and prepping the power/ground looms. Also did some reading about how to mount these and some net searches of the best looking arrangement.

Sorry for the # of posts and pictures this will be. Since pretty much nobody has done this for a 04-08 F-150...and posted pics of the process, I figured why not.

FYI: I am not a master mechanic or electrician. This stuff works...and the wiring can be ugly. Copy at your own risk. It's not my fault if you f'up your truck. I recommend you get a professional install if you get lost with the wiring on this install. A radio is harder to hook up than this is. Seriously, this makes 15 holes in your roof. If you aren't good with tools, this isn't a good project to attempt.

That being said....

Last edited by Tylus; 09-20-2008 at 05:05 AM. Reason: clarify
Old 09-20-2008, 04:42 AM
Tylus
MMNC (SS)(Ret)

First off, lets cover some basics.

What you'll need:
  1. Instructions
  2. Torx Driver Set
  3. Phillips Screwdriver
  4. Small Metric Socket Set
  5. ~20 feet of 18g or 20g electrical cord
  6. Misc. Electrical Connectors
  7. Drill with a 1/8" and a 3/8" bits
  8. Flashlight
  9. The lights of course
there is some other stuff, but that's the majority of it.
I used the instructions that Recon provided as a base. They are for a 2003-2008 Dodge Ram 2500. But the basic principles are the same for our truck. And wierdly, the measurements were almost identical.

You can get them here. 2003-2008 Ram 2500 Recon Install PDF

Old 09-20-2008, 04:43 AM
Tylus
MMNC (SS)(Ret)

Now the pics.