Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Suspension help!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 08:50 PM
99Mystic
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Suspension help!!

Im new to the F series trucks. Anyways i got this truck and previous owner had the truck lifted only in the front just slightly. He called it a Level Lift. It has 2 struts per side and they are Bilstiens and pretty old. After I drove in a buddys' F-350 Dually which was stock suspension i really want mine to feel the same way or as close as possible. My question is what is required to replace with the stock components. I was told i will have to replace the Axle pivot arm. I know i have to put back the stock radius arms. Appreciate the help. I use this truck pretty much everyday and then i tow my race car with it all over SoCal and Vegas.
Here is a pic of the suspension.

Old 05-16-2011, 10:50 AM
nstueve
Postmaster
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
here's the thing... you're never going to ride anything like a f350 unless you want to pour $3000 into a SAS (solid axle swap) for the front end. your buddy's truck rides the way it does b/c it has a solid axle not a TTB (twin traction beam) like yours... Plus he has leaf spring fronts not coils like you... You might want to take off the Bilsteins and see if you have any pressure left in them... if not replace with new ones or Rancho's... Also it looks like you need some MOOG replacement bushings on your endlinks and sway bar. You'll be surprised what some new shocks and suspension bushings can do for your ride quality...

Old 05-16-2011, 10:52 AM
nstueve
Postmaster
have a look and read here... I just did my F250 suspension... And just so you know the TTB suspensions are better for road use since they ride better than 1ton suspensions. The ride is softer than a F350...