1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Mustang II rack install ?

Old 05-04-2011, 10:45 AM
sdetweil
Hotshot

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Mustang II rack install ?

Sheesh.. I feel like such a newbie!

so, about to install the rack.. but it seems that the boots will rub against the lower A arm bolts no matter what..

I 'think' the order is

crossmember
spacer
rack busing
washer
bolt head

if I move the washer to between the crossmember and spacer it ALMOST clears.

this is a no name crossmember, but it measures the same as the TCI version I have partially installed on the 54 chassis in the corner.

Sam

Old 05-04-2011, 11:10 AM
Doc
Logistics Pro
Received 124 Likes on 54 Posts
Don't feel bad Sam. I AM a newbie to MII's and the instructions to these things are horribly incomplete. My instructions were 2 copied pages, and once I got the strut rods installed, I was on my own. And apparently every manufacturer is that way. Which bolts are you talking about on that lower A arm? The ones that hold the lower shock mount? I can't remember why, but I had to flip that bolt around and put the nut on the back side because I could tell something was gonna rub when I eventually bolt my rack on. But you may be talking about another bolt.

But I would tend to agree with you. I would assume any supplied washer would go between the rack housing and the head of the bolt. Mine is chassis engineering. And I've already noticed that I have nothing more than the 2 bolts and lock nuts to install mine.

Old 05-04-2011, 11:20 AM
sdetweil
Hotshot

Originally Posted by Mountaindoc