Notices
1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1956 F250 and 351W?

Old 03-15-2003, 10:28 AM
Vlad44
New User
Vlad44 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Question 1956 F250 and 351W?

Hello

I am new to rebuilding pickups and i would like to know if anyone knows if i can swap out the 272 Y block that is in the pickup now and replace it with a 351W without having to do a whole lot of front end changes? Thanks in advance.

Old 03-15-2003, 05:44 PM
ferguson777
Posting Guru
ferguson777 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
1956 F250 and 351W?

There are several threads in here on the subject, including a recent one entitled something like "putting a big motor in my'51".

You don't say what year your truck is but a 351W is a relatively easy fit in just about anything. Hell, if it's a 48 to 56 - even a 460 would fit.

You'll need new motor and tranny mounts but just about everybody sells them. Do a search in here on 351W and you should find lots on the subject.

Old 03-15-2003, 06:44 PM
Earl
Postmaster
Earl has a good reputation on FTE.Earl has a good reputation on FTE.Earl has a good reputation on FTE.
1956 F250 and 351W?

Some Saturday night random thoughts while I sit in my shorts, bathed in the glow of my 20" LCD flat-screen monitor. Now there's a mental picture that'll keep you awake tonight.

Why would you want to swap out your classic 272 Y-block for some new-fangled engine that's prolly got a bunch of light-weight-iron parts in it? Boy, that old 272 is a real keeper. I've got one in my 1956 F-250, "Earl" - well, actually, on an engine stand next to Earl. 'fenders can verify that. Mine scares the hell out of my dogs. I think it's mostly the creaking sounds it makes sitting on the engine stand. Anyway, if I had that baby all spiffed up and back in my truck, I bet it would scare the hell out of everybody.