1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Barely passed emissions test... Please advise me on how to clean up emissions

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2011, 11:40 PM
The assassin Blevins
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Barely passed emissions test... Please advise me on how to clean up emissions

Hi. I have a 97 Powerstroke with a 3 1/2" exhaust from the turbo back. It's a straight pipe other than a gutted cat which I left on to pass visual inspections during the emissions testing process. I have no muffler. Anyway... I just barely passed the emissions test and the guy told me my truck is running very dirty. So I'm wondering if this is an indication that some part of the truck needs attention??? (other than the gutted cat of course). Please advise. Thanks.

Old 03-10-2011, 12:17 AM
BuckHammer
Cargo Master

Received 56 Likes on 44 Posts
I'm no expert on emissions (I live in Indiana), but you passed the emissions test without a cat? Haha, I'd be thankful just for that!

Old 03-10-2011, 04:18 AM
Copedawg
Lead Driver

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts
X2 what Joseph said. Where do you live?...What state? Most places just do the visual if they do anything at all. How long is you smog test good for? 2 years?

Old 03-10-2011, 05:00 AM
Talyn
Hotshot
Received 42 Likes on 38 Posts
yeah, that is most impressive.

So amusing how strict they are on diesels when diesels are said to run cleaner than gas engines.

Old 03-10-2011, 05:00 AM
Talyn
Hotshot
yeah, that is most impressive.

So amusing how strict they are on diesels when diesels are said to run cleaner than gas engines.

Old 03-10-2011, 05:04 AM
Copedawg
Lead Driver

That was worth saying 2wice,
"William, the King of double talk" lol

Old 03-10-2011, 05:14 AM
Talyn
Hotshot
At least I'm not back peddling on what I say, its always the same thing. $

Old 03-10-2011, 05:26 AM
Copedawg
Lead Driver