Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

'91 f150 4.9 2wd

Old 03-06-2011, 01:05 PM
joecarpenter
New User
joecarpenter is starting off with a positive reputation.
'91 f150 4.9 2wd

First let me thank the Admin and those who are much more mechanically savy than I.

About a week ago my trusty Ford died at a stop light. After being towed to a trustworthy mechanic whom I've used before, a bad ignition module was to blame. After a quick turn-around from the shop, (my truck is my livelihood as I'm a carpenter with a truck full of tools) I drove her a few days and noticed a little less power and a slight miss under load, (pulling a hill). Last weekend I changed plugs. No improvement. The other day I changed wires with a high quality set. No improvement. I used a injector cleaner which a friend recommended. Still no improvement. I need all the power this 4.9 has due to the weight I carry around everyday, plus it is a 5 speed. I bought the truck new in 1991 and she has 224,000 miles. No smoke, very little oil consumption.

I wondered If my mechanic could have altered the timing installing the ignition module. There is a layer of gook on the timing indicator so I know he didn't time it old school. I wish I was more mechanically inclined so I need help here from you Pro's. What is going on? Thanks in advance....

Old 03-06-2011, 02:00 PM
77h0t_r0d_wrecker
Senior User
77h0t_r0d_wrecker is starting off with a positive reputation.
Definitely sounds like an ignition timing problem, but there has to be a reason that it now has altered timing just after installing an ignition module and the distributor wasn't moved...