1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

a real econoline steering fix!

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2014, 11:27 AM
Endeavourniche
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the great thread!

I found this forum and thread by accident. I just bought a 1980 Roll A Long Class C motorhome on a 1979 E350 chassis. Back in the 70's and early 80's just about all American vehicles with power steering were way way over powered. That's why you have that floating boat feeling with no feedback at all through the steering wheel. So I was searching for a performance type steering box to replace mine and found this thread. I have been driving Ford vans daily since 1975 as a service plumber and A/C tech. Every single one I've ever driven had all the problems stated in this thread. Ford van steering sucks period. I have well over a million miles in them. Adding a stabilizer is not "masking" another problem. E series steering sucks when brand new. I don't care what Maples01 says. Steering stabilizers do exactly what the name implies. They stabilize the steering. I have had them on all my 4x4 trucks. I don't know why I didn't think of it for this van but thank you to Andrew and everyone here. I'm ordering all the parts and since I don't have the predrilled holes, will be welding the bracket to the frame as one of the guys did here in this thread. I hope it makes the steering "harder" and "tighter" as some have described. The over powered gearbox is part of the problem with overcorrecting. Thanks again to everyone here. I'm glad I found this forum. I read this thread from beginning to end.

Old 06-10-2014, 07:14 PM
maples01
Logistics Pro
Received 89 Likes on 85 Posts
Originally Posted by Endeavourniche