1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

slow cranking, battery corrosion, and my solution.

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2011, 09:43 PM
Fishin76
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
slow cranking, battery corrosion, and my solution.

Some of you may have never had this problem.... But I've been fighting battery corrosion for 6 months or more. Finally, today, the corrosion won a round. I could crank, but not maintain 10.5 volts to operate the PCM. Cranking was slow, but I had been having that for a while, never completely understood why. I kept thinking it was my batteries because I could put them on charge for a few hours and then I could crank it long enough start. For a while, I was just about ready to go buy $80 worth of Rotella T6 5W-40 to help cranking and starting. Thought it was my starter for a while, but I've had other starters go out and know that it's pretty much they work, or they don't, not much in the middle.

Today, cranking was WAY slower, and I had the batts on a maintainer all night. (bought new charger, crap HF charger quit). So I disconnected the positive cable from the drivers batt and took volt reading from the batts, 13.0 and 12.8. Batts were FULLY charged still!!!

This afternoon I stopped in at AZ and picked up a neat little battery maintenance kit for $9 and two sets (4) of battery bolt/nut pairs. The kit contained a aerosol battery corrosion neutralizer, a post/connector wire brush tool, two felt washers, and a small aerosol can of corrosion inhibitor.