Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Fuel tank help!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 04:27 PM
ManicMike
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel tank help!!

So for some reason the PO removed my rear tank. I don't know if it's because of the texas style bumper/hitch or what. I want to add it back into the truck, cause having more then 16 gallons on board would be great.

This is what I'm looking at:

Those two lines that are zipped tied to the frame are the return/feed lines. That plug kinda just hanging there I'm guessing is for the fuel gauge sending unit.

What else would I need besides the tank, sending unit/pickup and tank straps? I've switched the tanks in the cab once and the gauge went WAYY over the full mark and fuel came flowing out of one of those lines (i had a bucket under it to catch it). So I guess the fuel selector valve is working?

I'm a total noob with this tank thing, I've usually only have had to deal with one tank lol

-Mike

Old 01-08-2011, 04:37 PM
tecgod13
Logistics Pro
Received 120 Likes on 101 Posts
Looks like you pretty much hit it on the head. New tank, sending unit and the lower straps with bolts.
Can't tell from the angle of the photo, but do you have a fill tube? Its also hard to tell the length of the fuel hoses, are they just cut off, or are the plastic fittings on the ends? You may have to cobble that together if they were just clipped.

As far as fuel coming out when you hit the switch, yup thats working perfectly, one of my buddies screwed with me when I had the front tank out and hit the switch and it was dripping so thats a good sign for you. I don't know remember what the gauge is supposed to do without a sender attached. I think mine stayed at empty, but it might go to full if there is crud in the plug???

Old 01-08-2011, 04:44 PM
ManicMike
Senior User
Originally Posted by tecgod13
Looks like you pretty much hit it on the head. New tank, sending unit and the lower straps with bolts.