Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Exhaust size, custom turbo up-piping

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2010, 01:34 PM
BlueOvalBud
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exhaust size, custom turbo up-piping

Turbill and I wrapped our heads together and got to thinking about some up-pipe plumbing. So, next comes some questions about pipe size....and other things...
The exhaust hole coming out of the head is 1" round. Theoretically...wouldn't it be best to have a 4" pipe on each side of the engine, giving 1" for each cylinder to flow?
I'm no expert, but I do have a good basic understanding of things...so this is what I've got so far. It's a crude drawing in Microsoft Paint, but I think it gets the ideas across anyway.

Picture #1 is viewing from the front or rear of the engine, the crcle on top is the turbo. The view from front or rear isn't the point in this picture, it's the lower and upper manifold idea. A lower manifold is built using 90 degree 1" tubing with 5/16" plate steel for a mating surface flange on each side. The matng surfaces would be the same on each side for versitality for each side of the motor, and so the stock exhaust manifold gasket can be used. The upper manifold/up-pipe could be easily un-bolted for engine service, mainly for glow plugs and injectors. The upper manifold is poorly pictured, so let's move attention to picture #2.