1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Another Cranks but won't start thread.... please help

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2010, 11:16 PM
kc 300EX
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another Cranks but won't start thread.... please help

Ok, I have a 97' F350 7.3 PSD 4x4. Hypermax chip, 6637 intake, downpipe, all stock other than that. Right now, I can not get it to start.

It was running fine on Tuesday. I filled it up Tuesday night, took it to the car wash, came home, plugged her in to my timer; which comes on 2 hours before I leave for work. It was pretty cold Tuesday night, may have gotten down to 20 degrees.

I got up Wed morning, started the truck. It started a little rough. Idled lousy for a minute or two, then shut off and has not restarted since.

I've been trying to figure it out ever since, but I'm kind of stumped. I'm a PSD newb, but here's what I got so far:

Cranks good, batteries fully charged. Wait to start light DOES come on. Fuse #22 under the hood is good and does have continuity when checked with a meter. Tach DOES work, cranks at about 200 rpms.

I pulled the filter, which is only about 1000 miles old. Drained the bowl, filled it was the Red Diesel 911. Poured a can of the white diesel 911 into my tank. Attempted to start again, still no good.

So, what now? I'm going to try to check the Glow Plug Relay, and the glow plugs themselves. How do I test the relay? Is it similar to a starter relay, in that I'm looking for battery voltage to both sides?

Well, thanks for reading, and thanks for trying to help!!

Old 12-11-2010, 06:39 AM
427 fordman
Hotshot
Received 54 Likes on 33 Posts
Any cel come on at all? Try unplugging the icp and see if it starts.

Old 12-11-2010, 07:16 AM
arkredneck
Posting Guru