Installing a Cam: How To...

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2010, 11:56 AM
AbandonedBronco
Received 79 Likes on 72 Posts
Installing a Cam: How To...

Hi All,
Getting into some work I've never done before, which is installing a new cam.
Jim (aka JimsRebel) was awesome in assisting me in getting a great deal on a Comp 260h (can't thank him enough.)

So, I am getting the full kit:

Cam, Metal Timing Gears, New Valve Seals, Lifters, etc.

I figure I'll be removing the valve cover, rocker arms, push rods, lifter cover, etc. to remove the lifters. Then, remove the grill and radiator to allow room to pull the cam out.

After this, I'm not too sure what to do. I imagine I'll have to have the old gears pressed off and then new ones pressed on. Do BOTH need a press? As in, the one on the cam and the one on the crank? If it's just the cam, I'll probably have a shop do it, unless someone knows some good methods.

From there, I've heard about cam timing, but know nothing of it. Anyone have any info?

Other tips, tricks? Thanks for all advice.

Old 10-26-2010, 05:29 PM
coolguy1419
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hey AB check out this page for some pics of when I did mine.
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/9...ml#post8922725