1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

3 SES Codes! Do they seem connected or serious?

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2017, 07:43 PM
strokeithard
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3 SES Codes! Do they seem connected or serious?

Hello. I am new to diesels so please bare with me.

I just bought a 2000 f350 7.3 6 speed with 175k miles. It has a few mods such as a 5 inch lift, 5 inch turbo back exhaust, TS Performance 6 Position Chip and a few other things.

The guy I bought it from had gotten a new truck, changed the fluids on this one, and let it sit for about two months (he started it once a week). He drove it to work the day we were suppose to meet up and the SES light came on. It threw codes:
P0541-Intake air heater control low
P0107-MAP/Barometer
P0475-Exhaust pressure control valve

My questions are 1) is there any problem with me driving with these codes? I have been driving the past few days and the truck runs amazing, starts perfectly in the cold, pulls hard and holds boost. Nothing at all feels wrong!!! I need the truck for work and there are no signs that the truck is running bad in any way.

2) So I know that the PCM controls the EBPV and I also know that the barometer is inside the PCM. I am wondering if the PCM might need to be replaced to fix those two codes? I want know pretty certainly though before I go buy the PCM as it is not cheap.

3) Which do you think I should try to attack first? Which is the most important and how critical really is it?

I really appreciate all of your help, knowledge, and advice!

Old 02-15-2017, 12:02 PM
onelionhunter
Laughing Gas

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Clear and Run

I would clear the codes and run it some more, see what comes back for starters. After sitting, things may have gummed up some, now that you have run it more often, got it hot, etc, those codes may not come back if you clear them.

Old 02-15-2017, 05:04 PM
strokeithard
Freshman User