6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

FRONT BRAKE DRIVERS SIDE OUCH OUCH OUCH

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2016, 01:18 PM
StanleyZ
Logistics Pro
Received 68 Likes on 31 Posts
FRONT BRAKE DRIVERS SIDE OUCH OUCH OUCH

Anybody want to tell me what caused this?

Anybody want to tell me if the caliper can be repaired?

Anybody want to tell me if the rotor can be turned? Inner surface is perfect.

just trying to decide if I want to do it or take it to a pro. Thank you fpor your help.

Attached Images     
Old 12-02-2016, 01:32 PM
darren32
Lead Driver

Received 736 Likes on 141 Posts
I am no mechanic but my guesses.....

Originally Posted by StanleyZ
Anybody want to tell me what caused this?
Prob a stuck caliper
Anybody want to tell me if the caliper can be repaired?
Maybe but they are pretty cheap and I would throw a new one on
Anybody want to tell me if the rotor can be turned? Inner surface is perfect.
Looks like there is still lots of meat to turn but you will have to measure it
just trying to decide if I want to do it or take it to a pro. Thank you fpor your help.
Good luck

Old 12-02-2016, 02:26 PM
djousma
Cargo Master
Received 906 Likes on 328 Posts
if it were me, I'd put new(reman) caliper, pads, and rotor on. Being as **** as I am, I'd probably do the other side the same way depending on how many miles were on them.

Old 12-02-2016, 02:33 PM
69cj
Hotshot
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Originally Posted by djousma
if it were me, I'd put new(reman) caliper, pads, and rotor on. Being as **** as I am, I'd probably do the other side the same way depending on how many miles were on them.
Pads come in pairs. I agree on doing both sides. That way you have a good baseline for the front. The brake system should also be flushed every two years since brake fluid is hygroscopic and attracts moisture out of the air.

Old 12-02-2016, 03:55 PM
Just Strokin
Post Fiend
Received 98 Likes on 84 Posts