1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

PROJECT 53' Aluminator Build

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2015, 05:06 AM
Nicholas+
Senior User
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
PROJECT 53' Aluminator Build

Thought I'd document and share latest 53 F100 project. This will be a complete rebuild. I'll add some comments and pictures as I go. I'm just getting started.

Old 05-29-2015, 09:07 AM
56panelford
FTE Legend
Received 4,119 Likes on 2,649 Posts
Welcome to the site, looking forward to see what you have in store for your 53.

Old 05-29-2015, 09:16 AM
jrockdiddy
Fleet Mechanic
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Subscribed

Old 05-29-2015, 09:19 AM
56panelford
FTE Legend
The Aluminator has me intrigued

Old 05-29-2015, 12:08 PM
Nicholas+
Senior User
Originally Posted by 56panelford
The Aluminator has me intrigued
Thanks for the welcome. The Aluminator should be a fun motor and make for a challenging build. Building 'em is most of the fun anyhow? The Aluminator is an upgrage from the basic modern 5.0 Coyote found in the '11-15 Mustangs. The Aluminator has all forged internals, Mahle forged pistons, Manley H beam forged rods and ARP bolts. It good for 1000 HP. All those forged internals bump up the RPM redline to 8000+RPM. Should be a fun ride. But I'm not even close to all that....

Ive been working on the plan for about a month now and making sure the budget matched the ambition. Working on the chassis now. I have a TCI Custom IFS. It seems like a real nice set up. I like how it is a one piece unit and just drops in. It actually created an idea and changed the plan a bit.

Because the TCI unit drops in and rests on the frame rails it got me sliding it all around. After some thought I decided I want to move the axle center line considerably forward. I'm moving the wheel arches 3 3/4" forward and moving the axle C-line to match.

A little mock up. This is what I was going to go with... "Centered to my taste".