Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum38/)
-   -   Air cleaner nightmare (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/994110-air-cleaner-nightmare.html)

mbaroz 09-21-2010 12:43 AM

Air cleaner nightmare

Hey, so I just got a '79 F250 with a 351and I'm having trouble finding a couple of pieces for the air cleaner. I'm pretty new at it and I wonder if I'm looking for the wrong thing. Seems the door in the snorkle part (I don't know the proper name, sorry!) doesn't move when I start the truck. Now, is there a sensor in that top part? Is that the problem? Is there an aftermarket solution that bypasses this operation all together? The way I understand it is this door is supposed to close during starting to allow warm air from the engine into the carb and then open after idling to allow cool air in to regulate the temp. Feels like it's running pretty lean at all times. Thanks for helping a novice!

MadFrank81 09-21-2010 12:49 AM

Hey there mbaroz, that thing should be operated by a vacuum line if I'm not mistaken. Should be a little canister attached to the top of the snorkle with a nipple on it, is there?

If it's there try applying manifold vacuum to it and see if it opens/closes or whatever and if that opens it up, just leave it on vacuum all the time. Otherwise you could just rip the door out of there somehow or jam it open. Might be other types that I'm not familiar with too.

mbaroz 09-21-2010 12:55 AM

Yeah, there is a little canister with a hose attached to it. Uhm, sorry again for not having at least a basic knowledge of this stuff...but how do I apply vacuum to it and it'd be okay just to have that door open at all times? It is open as the default. I was thinking this is why it has such a rough time starting. I adjusted the choke and this seemed to help a little...

MadFrank81 09-21-2010 01:41 AM