Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Kentucky Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum151/)
-   -   I may upgrade (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/990003-i-may-upgrade.html)

ky79 09-07-2010 06:43 PM

I may upgrade

Well guys its been a while scince I have been on here. Just really buisy but on a good note I may be upgrading from my f100 to a 96 f250 7.3. Its excab 4x4 auto and bone stock so if I pick it up are the any thinks I should change just for a reliability or maintinance point of view. Let me know as im new to diesels and lack a lot of insight them. Take care and hope everyone is doing well.

CampSpringsJohn 09-08-2010 08:50 AM

There are several things you can do. Too much to list at one time from someone that doesn't type too good!. Should you decide to get one, let me know. There are some things to check on these. A lot of the same stuff you would normally check on a truck, but things like a leaking intake tube, and/or air filter. How many miles, tranny. These are expensive to rebuild. I own a 97 psd and an 02 psd.

kenpobuck 09-08-2010 03:40 PM

Those are the first gen psd engines and are what I consider the best of them. As John said they are not cheap to work on tho. A single injector will cost as much as a whole set for my old 6.9 idi. There are many things to look at and many mods that can be done and some from what i hear should be done. If you do get a diesel you will never go back to gasser trucks again. It is an addiction that there is no remedy for and i hope they never do find one lol.

ky79 09-08-2010 03:41 PM