Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   4.9L 300Ci. I6 4x4 Exhaust Experiences? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/987000-4-9l-300ci-i6-4x4-exhaust-experiences.html)

EricC. 08-28-2010 08:11 PM

4.9L 300Ci. I6 4x4 Exhaust Experiences?

Hello everyone, my name is Eric, and I am new to this section of FTE. I just bought a '94 F150 XL 4x4 5 speed manual with the 4.9L 300Ci I6. I am looking to really wake her up, but am having no luck with my research on google, summit, jegs, or with the search tool on here. So I am looking for experiences from people who have this motor, and have modded their exhausts.
What I am looking to do is build a custom exhaust, starting with the header back.
  • I would like any feed back from people who have installed performance headers on their I6. Which should I buy? Important factors for me are; low price (but not absolute), single outlet (so that i dont have to buy 2 CATs and 2 mufflers), and it has to be able to bolt up without any alterations to the truck itself. I have a welder and tools, and such, but i just dont want that headache.
  • Also any suggestions on High Flow CATs and Mufflers would be great. I am looking for as dee a rumble as I can get with this inline 6.
Again, low price is important to me, but it isnt my top priority. So anyone with this motor, that has any suggestions, or experiences to share, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for all your help in advance,
Eric

rstrong 08-28-2010 08:38 PM

On an I-6 first thing is to get a hi-flow cat and muffler, hope this helps

EricC. 08-28-2010 08:40 PM

So you think that I could just go ahead and skip the headers all together?

EricC. 08-28-2010 08:42 PM

is it 2.25" piping that our trucks are running?

rstrong 08-28-2010 08:51 PM