Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum117/)
-   -   Maual primer on fuel pump? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/942962-maual-primer-on-fuel-pump.html)

Brad Leroy 03-25-2010 04:16 PM

Maual primer on fuel pump?

So, I'm grinding my 94 IDI turbo this morning and she won't start. (Has been running fine) After a while my neighbor came down and said sounds like you lost your prime - where's the manual primer on your fuel pump. Understand - I just got this truck and I'm new to Fords, and I had been asking myself the same thing, having had a Toyota diesel in the past with such a thing. Neither he nor I nor my manuals nor my searching on FTE has revealed that my rig has a manual primer - sure can't see one, if it there!
So, tell me, am I blind, or what? And, if there isn't one, then what do you do? I finally took the filter off (was going to change it anyway), changed it and filled it with some Diesel Kleen and now I'm waiting for my batteries to charge up again (yup, I ran them down pretty low). Can you folks confirm or not re: manual primer on the fuel pump?
Thanks, in advance, for the great help. I love this site!

Lazy K 03-25-2010 04:20 PM

No primer. You have to crank it on the starter. It helps if you crack open the hard lines at a couple of the injectors to bleed the air out quicker.

Brad Leroy 03-25-2010 04:26 PM

Thanks Lazy, I'll give it a try. Appreciate the confirmation!

greywynd 03-25-2010 09:35 PM

I wish these pumps did have a manual primer. It would certainly save some battery and starters!!

johnboggs21 03-25-2010 09:42 PM

If your trucks a manual, you can pull start it and save on the starting system.

Brad Leroy 03-25-2010 09:55 PM