Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   New Mexico Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum208/)
-   -   powerstroke service location? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/937720-powerstroke-service-location.html)

hawkco66 03-08-2010 09:59 PM

powerstroke service location?

Guys,
I'm new to the Albuquerque area. I've a bonestock 2004 F250 4x4 Crew with the 6.0. I've managed about 80K miles. I've only replaced the EGR valve twice :-X04 and I'm on the second turbo. I'm super paranoid about a possible future EGR cooler failure and/or headgasket failure.

I've recently read about "fire rings" and other reliability upgrades like EGR coolers and ARP head studs.

Can any of you guys recommend a reliable, trustworthy place to do this work in the area or at least the closest place from Albuquerque?

Thanks in advance,
Hawk

1950gmcelc 03-14-2010 01:12 AM

Hey I found a diesel mechanic from Don Chalmers who has been helping me a ton on my 95 7.3. All the way from helping me diagnose the 6 bad injectors to giving me a new icp and helping me do a compression test and giving me the bad news that I had a hole in the #5 piston. This guy also helped fix my dads 03 6.0 and reprogrammed it for the elivation. Do you know where I could find a replacement motor for mine?

Mrfun2fly 03-14-2010 11:16 AM

EGR Cooler Delete?

Originally Posted by hawkco66 (Post 8615238)
Guys,
I'm super paranoid about a possible future EGR cooler failure and/or headgasket failure.

Hawk

Hawk,

I'm in the same boat as you, but I already bought the EGR cooler delete kit. I was planing on doing the job myself but it's looking like a big job.

Did you ever find a good mechanic? Did you do the EGR cooler delete kit?

Thanks,
Lee

F0rdFre@K 03-15-2010 11:01 AM

Originally Posted by 1950gmcelc (Post 8638253)