Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum117/)
-   -   Glow Plug Wire Harness (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/911053-glow-plug-wire-harness.html)

Old Whitey 12-14-2009 01:57 PM

Glow Plug Wire Harness

Hello all,

This is my first time posting and also first time diesel ownwer. I have a 1987 F-350 6.9L diesel, 5 speed manual trans, single axle.

I went to relace a couple bad glow plugs; when I pulled the plug wires off they pretty much decentigrated/crumbled in my hands. Is this common? Now I'm having a hard time finding a place that carries the glow plug electrical harness. Called Oreileys, they couldn't get it. So, called Ford dealer they could order it but, would cost around $500. Sounds a bit expensive. Any sugestions on other places to order from? Thanks in advance.
Jim

Links56 12-14-2009 02:03 PM

Welcome! Can you just put new ends on the wires that are there? Just cut them back a ways and splice a new piece of wire and spade connector. Just make sure you use the same gauge wire because the current these draw. Otherwise you could find a used one I guess. You better grab a tub of Vaseline if you are going to go to the dealer.

Old Whitey 12-14-2009 02:33 PM

I'll look into that. Should I ask the parts store for a specific spade connector or will any kind work as long a I use the same gauge wire?

Fishin76 12-14-2009 02:38 PM

You could make your own. Not that hard or expensive. Just time to complete it. Radio shack for wire and connectors. Re-use the controller plugs, or get ring terminals. Just keep track of your wire colors.....

Links56 12-14-2009 02:41 PM

Well just make sure it fits the glow plug of course. Just have them bring a new glow plug out and find the spade that fits it.

This is what I would do...