Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   Won't start when hot? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/903627-wont-start-when-hot.html)

hawaiian21 11-19-2009 08:26 PM

Won't start when hot?

Hi guys, newbie here. Just picked up a '87 F250 7.5L today.

Short Version:
Can heat cause a starter to fail? What is the remedy?

Long Version:
When I went to test drive it, fired right up, cold, appears to not have been touched in weeks. Came back from the test drive, gave the lady some cash, got a pink slip and back into the truck I went. Started a little more sluggish this time, but not too bad. Drove up the street to a gas station, filled up, started a even slower this time. Got her on the freeway, put about 30 miles on the clock of freeway driving, parked, came back a half hour later, barely started. Put on another 40 miles to get home, parked in the street while I rearranged other cars, and when I went to move her, wouldn't budge. Cleaned battery terminals, hooked up a charger, and noticed that the engine compartment light didn't change - stayed equally bright whether the charger was connected or not. Then I tried my "start" feature of my charger, which pumps 60A through the system to help you start, and still nothing. Is heat my starter's enemy, and will replacing the starter solve my problem?

For those of you who actually read through the entire "long version", thank you.

For those who give a reply, thank you!

Oh, and I tried a search for "hot starter", whoa. I wish I knew how to narrow that one down...

phoneman91 11-20-2009 02:05 AM

Welcome to the forum and FTE !!:)