Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Colorado Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum81/)
-   -   starting promblems!!! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/879950-starting-promblems.html)

BWPowersmoker02 08-27-2009 08:15 PM

starting promblems!!!

First off i'd like to say i'm new to FTE so if i'm posting this in the wrong section I appologize. Ok now down to the problems...so i have a 2002 F350 7.3L. I have been having starting problems for about the last month or 2. I've had the truck diagnosed at checker multiple times and so far have replace the starter, one battery (the other one tests good), and an alternator. The truck starts about 90% of the time but the other 10% of the time it will not start. I have taken it back to checker and there diagnostic shows nothing is wrong. I refuse to go to a dealer because i believe they screw you most of the time. The truck will start with a jump most of the time so i don't thinkn it is the glow plugs. I've checked fuel lines and filters along with air filters all is well there. The truck still has power when it wont start (radio, headlights, instrument cluster all comes on, no check engine light is on however) I don't know what is causing this problem, i am clompletely at a loss as is the auto parts store and my friend whom is a diesel mechanic. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys/girls!!

Colo79Ford 08-28-2009 03:31 AM

Is it a manual??? Clutch safety switch? Check battery ground cables and positive cables, and the big gauge power wire that goes to the starter for good / clean / tight connections, tears or cuts or wear thrus in the protective coating on the wires.Check the HOT wires that go from battery to alternator. Does the truck have a draw that slowly drains power from the batteries as the truck sits?

Is there any relation between how long the truck sits for, and whether or not it will start?