Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum32/)
-   -   Bank 1, Bank 2 too rich (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/805225-bank-1-bank-2-too-rich.html)

chabre 12-26-2008 01:01 PM

Bank 1, Bank 2 too rich

hey guys...So my moms winter beater needs some love. I need to get it through emissions (they just read codes in CT now)..anyways, I have po172, po175 that came back. Now it has a fresh tune up (did it beginning of December, also has new O2 (all 4). new IAC (start/stall issue)...I was a Ford tech, but right now, all my diag tools are not near where I am. I'm kinda thinking MAF, or fuel pressure...anyone have similar issues?It runs great with the tune up, etc...just won't pass with the light on.

oh, and its a 99 exploder, eddie bauer edition with a 5.0

steve(ill) 12-26-2008 09:51 PM

could be MAF sensor needs cleaned, or could be vacuum leak causing the "rich fuel" code. i would look for vacuum leaks on small hoses and PVC valve first- thats the easy thing. pull each hose off the tubes and see if any are cracked, hard, or loose on the tubes.

chabre 12-26-2008 10:51 PM

thanks for the reply..went through all that, cleaned, etc...almost 20 miles with no light so far...see how it goes tomm. Probably go over it all once more. Thanks again

MikeB 88 12-27-2008 09:12 AM

Same thing happened with our '01 Sable. wound up having to change the PVC hose, as it was collapsed and cracked.

Wilber15 12-27-2008 06:28 PM