Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   Pinging when engine is starved for diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/785015-pinging-when-engine-is-starved-for-diesel.html)

Futuresweets-10 10-18-2008 11:10 PM

Pinging when engine is starved for diesel

I have run out of fuel a few times and noticed after I finally get it running again the engine has a pinging sound that is most noticeable at idle. Once it gets driven for a few miles it slowly starts to go away. I also noticed it when my fuel filter was extremely dirty. This leads my to belive that it is caused by the engine or injectors being starved for fuel. What causes this? Can it cause harm?

That_Guy 10-18-2008 11:16 PM

You already answered part of your own question, just keep up on the maintaince and dont run outa fuel. Im assuming its not good, but Im no expert on these things.

Fordbronco69 10-18-2008 11:18 PM

Thats called Cackle, bascially when air bubbles hit the injectors.

Theres a mod you can do inside the fuel tank that bypasses the mixing valves in the stock fuel pickup.

Kwik went a step ahead of that and added a fuel pump INSIDE the tank.

I havnt done it yet but many have and am sure they will post soon.

I can see noting good coming from starving the injector of fuel when it tries to fire, the fuel is the lubrication for it so metal/air/metal=fast wearing

Futuresweets-10 10-18-2008 11:27 PM

Originally Posted by Fordbronco69 (Post 6663155)
Thats called Cackle, bascially when air bubbles hit the injectors.

Theres a mod you can do inside the fuel tank that bypasses the mixing valves in the stock fuel pickup.

Kwik went a step ahead of that and added a fuel pump INSIDE the tank.

I havnt done it yet but many have and am sure they will post soon.