Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Alaska Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum152/)
-   -   Local help needed (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/755041-local-help-needed.html)

Layed Out 100 07-02-2008 03:21 AM

Local help needed

Hi I'm from Mississippi and just got invited by a friend to go to Tok Alaska for hunting at the end of August. He has friends that live's there so that is really nice. But I hate to bug them for details, Any advice would be great. We plan on driving instead of flying, Camping for a week in tents. We will be bringing two f250 deisels pulling trailer's w/Rinos. so far I have been told we will have to ride the rinos for twenty miles to campsite. All my friends say I will be ate by a bear? Once in a lifetime chance for me and the bear!!

bearman113 07-03-2008 08:12 PM

What info are you looking for??? PM me I work as a hunting guide several times a year.

bearman113

mlb4966 08-17-2008 08:25 PM

Eaten by bear - NO. Eaten by bugs - YES.

The road trip is nice, really one bad section is around the border, mostly Canada side. Frost Heave Garden. You'll see.

20 Mile ride is not that long just have a backup plan for getting stuck in the bog. IE good working winch, back up for that and extra rope.

Are you mailing your guns up? The hassle of getting a permit in Canada is not worth it unless they have made it eaiser. Also consider a good bush gun for protection.

Have a good trip.

Skip1970 11-29-2008 03:30 PM

I can take you out, i dont know what im doing though.. give me a shout

imfox 12-13-2008 06:06 PM

wait, this was made back in July..... Did you have fun? I love hunting... ok.. I love shooting my gun and trying to hit things :p
"Fox what are you shooting at?"
"that bear!"
"With a 22? You're just gonna piss it off!"

Skip1970 12-14-2008 01:58 AM

shooting is a good time for sure! Oo.

NumberDummy 12-14-2008 04:52 AM