Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   New York Chapter (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum87/)
-   -   Need Advice Guys Im New! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/681816-need-advice-guys-im-new.html)

Dom1284 12-06-2007 05:56 PM

Need Advice Guys Im New!

Hey guys heres my story I just picked up a 1996 Ford F150 4x4 with the straight 6 4.9L motor and 5 speed manual tranny. It came with a plow setup which i was looking for. Is this truck good for plowing?? Im new to plowing and driving a big truck like this. Also how are manual transmissions when plowing? I'd only be doing local driveways not big lots or anything. Any advice you can give me Id appreciate thanks guys

Jack_99V10 12-06-2007 08:59 PM

The I-6 is going to be kind of torquey... moreso than an equally sized V6... but it is no powerhouse at all.

If it has a nice blade on it you should be fine.

Ronin007 12-06-2007 09:07 PM

Depends. Are you going to be contract plowing or just personal? How many places are you going to be plowing? What kind of driveways? Short residential or long winding private drives?

Generally speaking if it is small stuff you will be fine. If you do get into bigger stuff or plowing heavy wet snow you will find your truck lacking. I use to plow with a 1977 F-150 351M regular cab and bed with a 7.5 Meyer plow. I sold it and got a 1999 F-350 V10 Supercab shortbed with a 8.0 Western plow. The old truck was fine, but would struggle with the wet stuff or really deep snow. The new truck is no problem with anything.

Hope that helps some. Post up if you other questions and join the NY Chapter while you are here. Just follow the link in my signature and welcome to FTE!! :-X22

tewferford 12-06-2007 09:36 PM

Darren and Jack said it all. The only thing I will add is. If you feel your truck is taking a woopin. angle the plow a little more. You might have to hit the snow more than once, but your truck will love you.