Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   2.6, 2.8, 2.9, 4.0 & SOHC 4.0 V6 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum59/)
-   -   2.9L Performance (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/555871-2-9l-performance.html)

broke77f100 12-09-2006 11:42 AM

2.9L Performance

Hey all,

I'm new to this specific engine forum(I frequently visit the 4.9L 300 section) but my brother is looking at a Bronco II that runs and drives for $150. Has a small soft spot on the frame that can be fixed with a small piece of new steel and it also has a big scratch and dent on one of the fenders. This Bronco II has a 2.9L and 5spd. What are possible performance upgrades for a 2.9L V6??? And also, if a V8 were swapped into a 2.9L V6 spot is the original 5spd still applicable to the V8 or is that only the bigger V6s? I know his 1988 Ranger has a 2.0(gas) with M5R1 and the M5R1 isnt applicable to a V6 or any motor other than the 2.0/2.3.

mrshorty 12-10-2006 12:23 AM

The 2.9 L V6 is what they call a cologne engine - the same family as the 2.8 and the 4.0. The transmission will bolt up to either of those engines. Do you know which 5 speed it has? Most likely, from what I understand, is the FM146 Mitsubishi transmission. Even though it bolts up to a 4.0, there is some debate out there as to how well it will hold up to the torque the 4.0 puts out.

From what I understand, there are some of the usual bolt on performance stuff (intake systems, exhaust systems, and the like), but nothing real dramatic. I've heard of the occasional person who gets real excited about building it up and gets the engine rebuilt for it (new cam, bore and stroke, and the like). Whether anything you can do to the 2.9 is better (or easier) than just dropping a 4.0 in, I don't know. If your brother wants to do some kind of engine swap, I would suggest trying to get the transmission with it.

broke77f100 12-10-2006 08:51 AM