Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Bio-diesel, Propane & Alternative Diesel Engine Fuels (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum168/)
-   -   New diesel owner w/ alt fuel question (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/513894-new-diesel-owner-w-alt-fuel-question.html)

mongo75 07-31-2006 03:26 PM

New diesel owner w/ alt fuel question

Hi ya'll. I'm a US Marine helo mechanic, and we pull fuel samples (a quart) on up to 30 aircraft a day to check for water contamination. We run JP-5 and I was wondering if I can safely run it in my 99 7.3L Powerstroke. We usually dump the samples in our support gear that have diesels. ALSO, we pull hydraulic fluid samples, and use a petro based dry cleaing fluid called "PD-680" to thin it out so it'll go through a 5 micron filter. Can that be burned safely too? I know it'll be clean of anything up to 5 mic, so it should be ok. I'm looking for any advice to save money on my 100 mile a day commute! Semper FI.

Phydeaux88 07-31-2006 04:48 PM

From my USAF days I remember jet fuel (JP-4 back then) as being hi quality kerosene.

If JP-5 is essentially the same it should work.
Kerosene is essentially a 12 to 15 carbon long chain whereas Diesel is a 10 to 15 carbon lenght chain so kerosene is esentially a component of diesel.

I am not so sure about the hydraulic fluid and the dry cleaning fluid additive could cause problems with seals, gaskets, and fuel lines.

mongo75 07-31-2006 05:52 PM

Then is it possible to run straight kerosene in a diesel? I don't know the dangers to my system or what bad might happen, but I do know that kerosene is 40 cents cheaper LOL.

Phydeaux88 07-31-2006 07:50 PM

You should have no problem running kerosene, not sure of the lubricating qualities so you might want to use an additive or mix some Bio with it to boost lubricity.