Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum40/)
-   -   FE vs. FT (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/51162-fe-vs-ft.html)

richlars_7 11-19-2002 08:08 AM

FE vs. FT

What are the differences between the FE and FT engines? Will most parts interchange?

Rich
62 F-250;-)

Mike G 11-19-2002 10:58 AM

FE vs. FT

The way I understand it, the FT has additional support/webbing at the crank journalsand are usually 361 or 391 c.i. due to a minor difference in stroke. All parts should interchange as they are FE motors. Keep in mind however, I am no expert....

hawkrod 11-19-2002 11:19 AM

FE vs. FT

the main difference for prcatical application are the heads and exhaust manifolds (they have an extra port for the intake heat crossover and blocking it is not feasable), the distributor drive support is larger (but ford sell a bushing you can put into an FT block to use an FE distributor), and most importantly the front of the crank is larger in diameter so you must use the FT front timing cover and all the pulleys and accesories. FT's are not as common as most people seem to believe, are you looking at one? hawkrod

jowilker 11-19-2002 04:26 PM

FE vs. FT

Rich, May I suggest the FE forum, there are several topics there relating to your question. :-X06
http://www.clubfte.com/users/jowilker/USFlag.gif
John

jowilker email me
[link:www.ford-trucks.com/users/jowilker|My Club FTE Page] Member 0004 since 01 01

[link:www.ford-trucks.net/users/jowilker/NCFTE.html|NCFTO] North Carolina Ford Truck Owners Group

In the cool still quiet of night, you can hear chevies rusting away.

richlars_7 11-19-2002 11:25 PM

FE vs. FT