Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ford Inline Six, 200, 250, 4.9L / 300 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum52/)
-   -   Help with Vacuum Lines, etc. On 1980 F-100 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/433257-help-with-vacuum-lines-etc-on-1980-f-100-a.html)

bluesuedetruck 11-24-2005 08:59 PM

Help with Vacuum Lines, etc. On 1980 F-100

I know this question has probably been asked plenty of times and I apologize for repeating it but...I am new to the 4.9 six and the Carter YFA 1 bbl. I bought this 1980 F-100 w/auto, NO A/C, NO power brakes and only has P/S. All the parts appear to be in place on the motor but are original, so old. It ran fairly well for a couple of days. It had been sitting for a year or two indoors (PO said he only put 600 miles on it in three years) and I have now pulled the carb off to do a rebuild (due to a gasket leak), the PO had disconnected the smog air pump and several of the vacuum lines have been plugged with screws. I want to clean up the engine and am NOT concerned about emissions as the vehicle is registered "Historic", no N.J. state inspection required.

FINALLY, to the main point...Which vacuum lines, imission valves and other valves (EGR,etc.) do I REALLY need to make the 4.9 run correctly? Most of the rubber and plastic vacuum lines are dry/brittle and will be replaced IF NECESSARY ONLY. I want to "streamline" this motor as much as possible and make it run smoothly. I do NOT want to "beef it up" with modifications.

I purchased a Chilton shop manual but am confused:-huh by all the emissions related abbreviations. I need some "straight talk" help figuring this out. I would appreciate any type of "must have" list you guys could provide for me.

Thanks, Ken.

fordflaresides 11-24-2005 09:58 PM

You should only need pcv. You will need to replace all the vaccuum and plugs though to prevent vacuum leaks which will cause rough idle, hesitation etc.