Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   2.6, 2.8, 2.9, 4.0 & SOHC 4.0 V6 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum59/)
-   -   2.9L Ford Bronco II 1986 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/222623-2-9l-ford-bronco-ii-1986-a.html)

Raidy 03-26-2004 08:17 PM

2.9L Ford Bronco II 1986

Hiyas,

I've got this interesting problem with my bronco II. On Warm days (like now :( it will not run for very long. At first, it'll run nice and smooth; and eventually get weak and die on me. It will not restart for 15-20 minutes or so. I've replaced the following components on this truck, and it hasn't helped much. I'm not a mechanic myself, so I'm getting a bit desperate; I like this truck, I just wish it would run better.. Anyways, I've replaced the ignition coil, ignition module, fuel pressure regulator, fuel/oil filters, Throttle Position sensor and I've verified that the engine is not running hot. At first, if you floor the truck (it's a 5 speed) it'll take off like a shot, until it gets warmer. After about 10 minutes or so, if you flooor it; past 4,000rpms, it'll do what I call frog hop. Basically, it'll try to take off and backoff.. A little while after this, it won't run. I can feather the pedal when it gets real weak and keep it crawling for a short distance; but eventually it quits running. and won't start back.

if the weather outside is cold or chilly, the truck will run fine all day and just start frog hopping after 4grand a few hours into running, but otherwise won't die on me.

It's an 86 fuel injected 2.9L with 53000 miles on it. What could be wrong?

mrshorty 03-27-2004 08:55 AM

What you describe sounds a lot loke a bad ignition module (aka TFI module). When you replaced the ignition module, did you put dielectric grease on the backing plate? As I understand it, this is important for heat transfer, to keep the ignition module cool, so it doesn't fail again.