Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum170/)
-   -   had truck towed to Ford. they're saying (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1250439-had-truck-towed-to-ford-theyre-saying.html)

rolltide3006 06-19-2013 02:22 PM

had truck towed to Ford. they're saying
 
Got fed up with this no start. Checked all the regular culprits, nothing. Had it towed to the dealership and they're saying the pcm is putting out codes that a gas engine does. So I guess I have a bad pcm? Don't really have the funds right now for apcm. Can I get it reflashed?

Hussler 06-19-2013 02:47 PM

Did you re-flash the PCM with a programmer or something? Maybe selected the wrong option! Yes, Ford can re-flash it or at least they have the capability if anyone remembers how to do it.

blageurt 06-19-2013 03:00 PM

PCM's are like 200 bucks now ....Hell.... I just bought one for 50 bucks about 1 month ago.....Jody @ Dptuner can flash whatever you want on your existing one a reasonable price as well .... What is your Code ?http://www.thedieselstop.com/faq/949.../pcmcodes.php3 Are you sure it is not IDM codes ?

rolltide3006 06-19-2013 03:45 PM

A new IDM was one of the many parts I threw on the truck since it quit working. I never flashed the PCM. I do have a chip though. Do PCMs ever break so bad that they can't be flashed? Not at home now so don't know my code.

blageurt 06-19-2013 04:20 PM

No they do not Break so to speak ...but they can have electronic issues...I am not an electronics expert BUT I have hired a few guys that were computer geeks and they solved the problem...BAsicallly the had a old scholl occilscope nd a wiring diagram I provided and in 15 minutes they figured it out...I paid them Well.....thats what I would do .....That being said I have 3 140 V Idms and 4 PCM's ready to Install in my truck Right Now ...because I am a Mechanical Guy...but I do have electronic geeks on the Payroll.......

nomad221 06-19-2013 08:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rolltide3006 (Post 13268700)
I do have a chip though.

Who is the company ?

oldbird1965 06-19-2013 08:46 PM

Did you 'no start' start with the chip install?

rolltide3006 06-22-2013 02:17 PM

Yes Glenn I did remove the chip and it still wouldn't start. Got a little more info from ford. They said the computer threw like 10+ pages of codes.

fordpride 06-22-2013 02:22 PM

If a PCM shows more than 5-7 codes then 9 times out of ten its a bad PCM

rolltide3006 06-22-2013 02:23 PM

As far as getting it reflashed has anyone done that. Who does it/how much?

fordpride 06-22-2013 02:24 PM

If its bad a flash isn't going to help

pjwoolw 06-22-2013 04:52 PM

Python Injection is a pretty good outfit for PCM repair. But if the dealer can talk to it with the scanner it may not need repair.

rolltide3006 06-22-2013 06:47 PM

Pjwoolw are you saying the dealership can reflash it?

Ford4Life7.3 06-22-2013 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rolltide3006 (Post 13277475)
Pjwoolw are you saying the dealership can reflash it?

yes

10char

rolltide3006 06-24-2013 03:27 PM

Found one in a junkyard. It's in a 97 automatic superduty. Would it work?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 AC1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.