Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Escape & Escape Hybrid (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum36/)
-   -   2005 Escape brake issues (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1149628-2005-escape-brake-issues.html)

db_tanker 03-22-2012 04:51 PM

2005 Escape brake issues

okay...I am having a bit of an issue here and would like some feedback, mebbe a good nudge in the right direction...

the wife's 2005 escape 4x4, 4 wheel disc was having a bit of a brake issue...the right side caliper was seemingly hanging. figured hell, its just a warped piston so went to parts house, got me two fresh calipers and installed. something of note here however...and something that SHOULD have flashed warning signs but didn't. :( ON bleeding the calipers, the drivers side was fine. no issues. on the passenger side, the one giving issues, I tried to gravity bleed (this is my normal sequence, ever since I worked in a shop years and years ago...gravity bleed and then have someone pump and hold, otherwise if I am by myself I will use the trusty old vacuum pump and a catch container, I had a brake pedal operator though so I did it that way) and was able to get NOTHING out...(yeah...cap was off master cylinder as well...) so I got the person to pump it up, but it seemed like it wasn't flowing as much as the driver side caliper...

and now we come to the present...and we still have the same issue...as the vehicle has ABS I am thinking the brake ABS block below the master cylinder also has the job of being the brake distribution/proportioning valve...that is the only other thing it could really be as there is only one line coming out of the master cylinder for the front, and one out for the rear...

IS there a simple way to check the ABS distribution block? The ABS is NOT throwing a code so there is no obvious sensor or electrical issue...