Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   56 f500 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1145332-56-f500.html)

56 kid 03-06-2012 10:11 AM

56 f500

ok so im new to this me and my dad have talked about doing auto transport as he is now retired and we both love the classics i stumbled upon a 56 f500. so we have decided to put a 460 with a automatic in it but looking at suspension and drive axels just looking for ideas as to what would work as this will be a driver and will be hauling a 2 car trailer interior will be updated with air ride seats gps and some creature comforts while still retaining the factory dash, we would like to put in a air ride suspension with disk brakes all the way around it and would require new rims as well any input and ideas are always appreciated.

CharlieLed 03-06-2012 10:23 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I am not well-versed on the Big Jobs but if I were to build/buy a truck to haul vehicles this would be my model...

56 kid 03-06-2012 10:42 AM

we actually thought about that at one time but we wanted to pull a trailer as we both have mustangs and going to the track we would want to be able to pull both of them, this will have alot of highway miles on it as we plan on using it for a small business of transporting cars so we are talke cross country trips, the idea is still up there for extending the cab and making it into a sleeper possibly but who knows the truck is being delivered tonight and the garage isnt even built yet. we have alot of things going on this spring but its always good to have a plan

HT32BSX115 03-06-2012 11:15 AM

Originally Posted by 56 kid (Post 11536864)