Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum117/)
-   -   7.3 idi hard start (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1100990-7-3-idi-hard-start.html)

Blu3 09-20-2011 01:44 PM

7.3 idi hard start

Hello everyone first I would like to say im kinda new to trucks and really new to diesel. I just bought my truck 4 months ago and have not done anything with it really because i bought it for my winter vehicle.so anyways I have a hard time starting for the first time in the day.I have been doing a little research and I have had the injector lines and all that stuff replaced because one was leaking and I bought some Ford glowplugs and put those in myself and its still hard to start the first time of the day, what would be next to replace? Also the previous owner put 1 autolite glowplug in and my motor ate the tip of it. The truck is a 90 f-250

Ffemt10 09-20-2011 01:52 PM

is the said autolite tip still in the motor? (whole can of worms there) are you sure your plug controller is working correctly? The plugs on these are designed to stay on awhile after the light goes off...etc which relies on taht controller.....if none of that helps try a block heater....When you said HARD to start do you mean no smoke and seems out of fuel or has fuel and is not firiing? clarifyin this will help us help you. no fuel may mean a leak in a line or pump issues...fuel and no firing is glow plugs....

btw welcome to the forums!

Blu3 09-20-2011 04:34 PM

I have no clue if its still in there how would I find out? I figured the motor chewed it up and spit it out. There's smoke when I'm turning it over so that must mean its the controller since I just replaced the plugs? What brand should I buy? Does it make a difference like the brand of glowplugs does.

Ffemt10 09-20-2011 04:41 PM