Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum32/)
-   -   Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace? (http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/109468-faulty-dpfe-sensor-how-to-replace.html)

Leftwing73 04-03-2003 04:57 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Hi everyone, new guy here.

I have a 2000 Mountaineer AWD 5.0 with a faulty DPFE sensor. (as diagnosed by dealership) I'm relatively handy with tools and I was wondering if this is an easy fix. Has anyone performed this repair before and if so, how did you do it?

Any help would be massively appreciated. Thanks!

CNTHOR 04-03-2003 05:24 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Takes two seconds on my '95

Look for your EGR valve (it has a mushroom top). follow the exhaust tube coming out of it. you will see two vacuum lines. the other end of those lines plug into the DPFE sensor. it should be bolted to the intake manifold of engine up near the valve covers

Diesel_Dummy _ 04-03-2003 07:42 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
that stupid little sensor is 118.00$ bucks !!!!!!!!!!!!!

CobraXP 04-03-2003 08:06 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
On the 2000 5.0 (late 97+), the DPFE sensor is mounted on the back of the upper intake. It is rectangular, and is on the intake itself just before the elbow going from the intake to the throttle body.

P.S. - Welcome to FTE!! :-wink

Leftwing73 04-04-2003 10:15 AM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Thanks guys! Appreciate the help. So all I need to do is just pull out th eold one, put in the new one and start the engine?

CobraXP 04-04-2003 10:20 AM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Once you replace the sensor, take the 10mm bolt out of your PCM (located on the firewall on the passenger's side) and unplug it for about 30 seconds. That will reset the PCM and clear the memory.

Good Luck!!


:-X06

Leftwing73 04-04-2003 06:23 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cobraxp
Once you replace the sensor, take the 10mm bolt out of your PCM (located on the firewall on the passenger's side) and unplug it for about 30 seconds. That will reset the PCM and clear the memory.

Good Luck!!


:-X06

Great! Thanks a bunch. I got a quote of $86 for the part, so I figure that's a good price.

BTW, your Explorer is just crazy (a good crazy, like "damn I want it" crazy). Outstanding work! Have you raced it at all?

CobraXP 04-04-2003 11:57 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Leftwing73
Great! Thanks a bunch. I got a quote of $86 for the part, so I figure that's a good price.

BTW, your Explorer is just crazy (a good crazy, like "dang I want it" crazy). Outstanding work! Have you raced it at all?

Glad you found the part! It is not that hard of a job to do. :cool:


Thanks for the compliments! My X is my toy. I have a few more things to get done, but she is doing pretty good. I have raced it a few times, and done fair. It will not turn 10 second quarters yet - but she's pretty quick and catches a lot of people off guard... :-X06

I always want something different - well, I'm getting there... :9

Leftwing73 04-08-2003 11:27 AM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
I just bought the Ford shop manual and it looks like a pretty easy fix. Thanks to everyone who helped. After this fix, I just have to fix the blank radio display and a sticky rear wiper.

Cobraxp - I thought about doing something similar to my Mountaineer, but not as extreme. I thought about a E303 cam, rockers arms, chip and exhaust, but when my wife and I agreed that she should drive the Merc primarily, I went out and bought a '98 Cobra for me. That satisfied my horsepower lust for now.

Its really is cool what you did, not too many blown Explorers out there. What's your best ET?

CobraXP 04-08-2003 12:54 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Leftwing73
Cobraxp - I thought about doing something similar to my Mountaineer, but not as extreme. I thought about a E303 cam, rockers arms, chip and exhaust, but when my wife and I agreed that she should drive the Merc primarily, I went out and bought a '98 Cobra for me. That satisfied my horsepower lust for now.

Its really is cool what you did, not too many blown Explorers out there. What's your best ET?


Thanks. I bet you are enjoying the Cobra! The Explorer 5.0's weakest link is its cam. I have thought about going ahead and putting in my E303 that I have in the garage, but I just haven't had the time to pull the engine and install it. Instead I bought a new longblock for a 95' Cobra, and am going to use it when this engine finally quits - plus a few extra other toys... :-X06

Before I got the chip tuned, and other calibrations done, my X was running mid to low 15's. I can tell a difference in it since everything is tuned, but haven't been back to the track to see what it is putting up now. My guess is constant low 15's, maybe high 14's on a good night... If I can get it into the mid to high 14's, I'll be happy with it...


:D

Leftwing73 04-10-2003 04:02 PM

Faulty DPFE sensor - how to replace?
 
$43.31 for the part at www.fordparts.com !!!!

https://fordparts.com/cart/?pn=F77Z-9J460-AB

CobraXP - yes, the Cobra manages to hold my attention. Any idea ho much HP you've got?

marragtop 08-16-2014 05:33 PM

I need to resurrect this thread... I have 2000 5.0 with the P1401 code so I'm assuming I need to replace the DPFE sensor. There is an L shaped bracket/shield over top of the sensor on the back of the motor . If I remove the 2 bolts that hold the sensor to the back of the engine, will that bracket then come off? If not, I don't see how that sensor will come out with the bracket in the way. Thanks for any replies.

marragtop 08-29-2014 04:10 PM

bump[... Anyone have any thoughts on this? thanks

shorod 09-02-2014 08:04 AM

Have you tried to remove the DPFE yet? The factory service manual makes no mention of needing to remove any shield or cover. It just says to unplug the electrical connector, remove the two hoses, then remove the two bolts (one at each end). During the install it says to tighten those two bolts to 41-62 lb/in.

-Rod


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7 AC1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.