Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   87 f150 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/10819-87-f150.html)

cryptonik420 12-01-2002 09:35 AM

87 f150

I recently purchased an 87 F150. Im wondering what you guys might think of it or might have suggestions on preventative maintenence. It has the 4.9L 6 cyl., 4 speed w/granny, 6" suspension - still has the TTB but the leaf springs were replaced with coils - 33x15.50" tires, open diffs front and rear. What problems am i going to face with this thing!! seems to be a little slow on the bottom part of RPM range, but i have no idea if that's just how these 4.9s work. Can yall help me to discover what kind of drivetrain components are in this thing? I am new to the F150 series of trucks.

I know that the power steering pump is going out - how hard is that to replace and how much should I be spending on it? Also one of the HUB lockouts is broken - what brand should i replace it with, or should I stay stock?

any help would be appreciated!

Tyler

jrs_big_ford_f150 12-01-2002 11:57 AM

87 f150

Sounds like you just picked up a great deal. If you have a granny gear you probably have the ZF tranny instead of the M5OD. The 300 I6's aren't known for great acceleration or top end speed, but you will have awesome low end torque. That and you have one of the most dependable motors ever put in a Ford truck. For your power steering pump, if it is making a low whine/growl, that increases/decreases respectively with RPM's it is fine. A lot of Ford cars and trucks make that noise. Has to do with how the pump was designed. As for the hub locks(i am assuming you have 4x4) I would go with a good set of Warn manuals. I am replacing my auto hubs with a set of Warn hubs next month. I hope you enjoy the new truck.:-X22

ecarter50 12-01-2002 12:34 PM

87 f150