Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   How much is this truck worth??? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1077805-how-much-is-this-truck-worth.html)

minnesotaford 06-24-2011 12:19 PM

How much is this truck worth???

Hey,
I am new to this thread, and i am sick of driving around my crappy old station wagon XD, so i have saved enough money to buy a truck of my own, i have gone off-roading and mudding with my brother and uncle several times, now i have found this truck, how much is it worth? is it a good deal? any opionions? link is below
thanks,
Luke

FORD F150 "HUGE"

andym 06-24-2011 12:29 PM

If you've never had a truck before and don't know much about building them for offroad, I would steer clear of this one. When you buy something that has been heavily modified from the factory, there are only a few right ways to do it and a million wrong ways. Most people do it the wrong way, not because they are lazy or cheap, but because they just don't know how to do it. A poorly built lifted/offroad truck is a rolling money pit, and in the worst case, deadly.

I can almost guarantee that this truck was built wrong simply because the owner picked the wrong truck to start with. Lifting an F-150 9" and putting 40" tires on it is just plain stupid. The first time you take it out on a trail it's going to break. Half-ton components like the brakes, axles, and frame are just not strong enough to handle that much tire and lift. Also, the 302/5 speed combination is about the worst one out there for power and durability. The 302 is more of a race motor and is better suited in a mustang, not in a lifted truck. You want something with a lot of power and cubic inches. The 302 has neither. The M5OD is a decent tranny in stock form, but it won't last long with those big tires on it.

Bankrupter 06-24-2011 12:40 PM