Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   How hard is it to recharge AC? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1072874-how-hard-is-it-to-recharge-ac.html)

Future_LEO 06-06-2011 11:33 AM

How hard is it to recharge AC?

Hey guys, my AC has been out for a little while now, and its not fun driving with the windows down in 100 degree south texas heat... Would like to save as much $ as possible and would like to do this myself. Any and all tips, what product to use, ect would be nice!

I've never done anything with any AC before so this is all new to me.

Thanks

edjunior 06-06-2011 11:40 AM

Well, if all it needs is a charge, it's not difficult. But you could be throwing money away if that's not the root cause. I gave my 2003 5.4L a shot once when it had about 70,000 miles on it. It held for a couple of more years and until I sold it with 125,000 miles on it. To the best of my knowledge, it is still going strong (guy down the street bought it from me). But my AC still worked, it just didn't cool well on "Normal". Max AC was okay. If your's is not working at all, I'd suggest plunking at least enough money to diagnose it first, then go from there.

Future_LEO 06-06-2011 11:51 AM

It blows, just not getting cold. It doesn't go to defrost so I know its not the vac lines.

Seems to blow a little (very little) cooler on the notch right before Max...

jc8825 06-06-2011 12:24 PM

You can just buy a can of refrigerant and recharge the system. As long as the compressor is working, and you don't have a leak, it will work. A professional recharge will include a vacuum of the lines, then a refill of refrigerant, which is better, but you only need that if you have no charge at all in the A/C lines currently.

jh818 06-06-2011 02:04 PM