Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   Coolant Flush Question (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1052986-coolant-flush-question.html)

Javo 03-25-2011 11:32 AM

Coolant Flush Question

Okay, I'm doing a coolant flush and coolant filter install today. I started to drain my coolant so I can begin the process and have a question...

I have only been able to get about 3.75 gallons of coolant from the drain on my radiator. Shouldn't I get a lot more (around 6-7 gallons) when it's drained? My degas bottle was at the "min" line so I wasn't low on coolant. Is there something I'm missing? This is my first time at this so I'm not sure what to expect.

I did read the "Coolant Flush Procedure" in the Tech Folder but didn't really see any mention as to the amount of coolant that should drain and/or how to get it all out.

Thanks for the help. :-X22

2003 f-250 03-25-2011 11:48 AM

there will be a couple gallons stuck in the block/heads/heater core, ect. and it will simply need to be flushed out, thus the term "coolant flush".

Javo 03-25-2011 11:58 AM

I kinda figured, but wasn't sure. My truck has 120k and I bought it used so I have no idea if it's ever had a flush so I'm going to start with the Simple Green HD, rinse, then go to the VC-9 and then rinse until clear. Can't hurt to "over do it" I guess.

Thanks for the info.

bpounds 03-25-2011 12:20 PM

This has been beaten to death in the 6.0 forum. If you head down there and look around you should have all your questions answered.

But in short, you will need to add 3.5 gallons of concentrated coolant back in, and assuming you have pure distilled water in the block after all your flushing, that will give you a perfect 50% mix when complete.