Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Large Truck (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum232/)
-   -   1950 F-8 Dump (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1010592-1950-f-8-dump.html)

Busguy71 11-15-2010 09:41 AM

1950 F-8 Dump

I'm new to the forum, just bought a '50 F-8 yesterday, drove it a whopping 1/10 of a mile so far. :-jammin

337 flathead, everything seems stock except the later dump bed. If and when I get it reliable enough I may throw a 5th wheel on and look for a similar vintage trailer, but for now its just a cool toy Oo.

I'm new to big trucks, can anyone recommend a wheel that will fit this 8 bolt pattern thats not a split rim? Thanks

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a3...88092889_0.jpg

Busguy71 11-18-2010 07:50 PM

last night I moved the truck, brakes worked fine 100psi or so, honked the air horn for fun, today the air pressure wont build at all. Any ideas? I'm new the these air systems. I wonder if the horn is stuck and letting it all out or if some valve is stuck in the compressor......:confused:

CHUCK48-50 11-18-2010 09:00 PM

Cool truck! I have a 1950 F-8 air brake tractor, as well as a 1950 F-7 Coleman 4X4 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/9...7-coleman.html).
You are fortunate that you don't have "split rims", but the lock ring style that you do have are not 100% safe either. Finding tubeless wheels that only fit 1956-62 F-750 and F-800's as optional equipment will be very difficult. It took me many years to find my 2 sets. You will probably have to have a set made.
You must be leaking air somewhere. The air horn valve could be stuck open, but you should be able to hear the leak.
Chuck

cj06 11-19-2010 04:15 AM

is the compressor turning ? any lines broken ? pressure gauge working ? do you here any air rushing out any where? do the brakes still work ?

Busguy71 11-19-2010 07:01 AM