Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   Modular V10 (6.8l) (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum49/)
-   -   Repair stripped spark plug hole -- without pulling head!! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/680008-repair-stripped-spark-plug-hole-without-pulling-head.html)

bro460 12-01-2007 07:34 PM

Repair stripped spark plug hole -- without pulling head!!

I am a mechanic and at work today I got a 2000 5.4ltr that had a plug laying on the top of the head and COP broken and flapping around. Sounded like a vintage steam generator. I have been doing research on this problem since I bought my truck (99 f350 V10) and have heard many success stories about repairing the threads with the head still on the engine. So knowing this is possible I tried it myself.

I phoned up the local West-Can parts store and they had a specific step tap that requires no drilling and can fix the thread. It does say on the package to do this repair with the head off the motor but, I figured I would try it anyway and if it didn't work then pull the head. 20min vs. a 15hr head job. I decided to load the tap with a ton of wheel bearing grease at the tip and between the flutes on the tap and take my time. I got every piece of aluminum shaving and was able to run the steel insert into the threads with no problem and tourqe the plug down to 30ft/pds without worry.

Now for the final test after everything was re-assembled, turn the key and start it up!! Fingers crossed it fired right up and ran perfect, took it for a test drive and stomped on it and no problems. Anybody with a stripped spark plug hole I would say find a GOOD mechanic and get him to do this repair unless you want to spend a lot of money to pull the head. An easy 3000bucks vs. a painless 230bucks. Take your pick.

I hope this helps out everyone with this problem and happy wheeling.

FortyFords 12-01-2007 09:06 PM